The Inner Abbey Study Course

A doorway of the Perennial Philosophy into the Esoteric Christian Tradition

To feel like a restless soul is not something to be avoided.  In our present culture we avoid the search for truth by finding mindless ways to escape in TV fantasy, drink or drugs.  And yet this restlessness is a divine discontent which holds within it endless possibility.

The Course – Important Questions

What is the aim of this course of study?

Every Mystery Tradition has its own name for the process of personal spiritual development that this course encourages and fosters. Carl Jung calls it Individuation. Abraham Maslow - Self Actualisation.
Rudolf Steiner – Mystery Wisdom or the Wisdom of Man (anthroposophia). Christianity – The Second Birth. Alchemy – The Spirit Embryo.

These are paradigms and metaphors for the journey undertaken when we decide to spiritually grow up and move into adulthood.


Your Guide Through the Course is John Porter

Hi, I worked within the Gareth Knight Group for 20 years and am also a student of Rudolph Steiner’s teachings as well as being an ordained priest.

There is no charge for the electronic version of this course as the perennial teaching is beyond price.

For any questions or an Application Form contact:


  • Level One
  • Level Two
  • Level Three

Laying the Foundation

Level one consists of Ten Lessons. 
The basis of the work can be seen by perusing the exercises at the end of the chapters in Experience of the Inner Worlds  by Gareth Knight.  It is a transformation of self through a deep contact with the Presence of the Christ in preparation for more objective work. The student will also study foundational work on Qabalistic Symbolism and, through additional papers,  develop a good grasp of the nature of the inner and outer levels of the human body and its relationship to Creation.

Study Books include:   Experience of the Inner Worlds - The Abbey Papers Part One - A Practical Guide to Qabalistic Symbolism Part I – Christianity as Mystical Fact - Additional Papers

The basis of Level Two can be found in the second section of The Abbey Papers by Gareth Knight.  Through the use of the Abbey as a ‘magical’ image, connections will be made with inner realities and beings in a practical way that will give the student the skills to successfully orientate themselves and work within the inner side of creation. 
Using the construct of the Inner Abbey the student will learn how to both experience and construct inner images for the expression of spiritual powers.

Study Books include: The Abbey Papers – Part Two
Additional Papers

Level Three is a coming of age where the student learns how to be aware of the greater levels of creation and is guided to seek out their own specific work relying on their own contacts, inner collaboration and the formulation of esoteric projects

Study Books include : The Abbey Papers – Part Three
Gawain and the Green Knight
The Zebulon Scripts
Additional Papers

Why Christian?

The Christ event or ‘Mystery of Golgotha’ as Steiner described it marks a unique point in the spiritual evolutionary history of both humanity and creation as a whole.  To explore the objective inner levels of consciousness without reference to this Cornerstone is, as Gareth Knight put it, to be on a shifting sand.  To experience spiritual reality we must avoid being drawn into the world of illusion and fantasy and to do this we need to have a sure footing.

Why Study Meditation and Metaphysics?

It is our birthright as human beings to understand our place in Creation both inner and outer.  The study of the geography of the inner worlds if approached with integrity is not to be feared or denigrated.  We work with the imagination to discover the objective Imaginal and for this we develop inner organs of perception which we use intelligently and with integrity.

Stages on the Path

The Mystical Christian Path follows Seven consecutive stages: The Washing of the Feet, The Scourging, The Crowning with Thorns, The Crucifixion, The Mystic Death, The Burial and Resurrection and The Ascension. However, such an ascetic path is not for many of us and so in this course we tread a broader and less steep road via the Rosicrucian method.  This method also has seven stages but they are not necessarily consecutive.  They are:
1. Study 
2. Imaginative knowledge 
3. Inspired knowledge or reading the esoteric script 
4. Preparing the philosophers stone 
5. Correspondence between macrocosm and microcosm 
6. Living into the macrocosm 
7. Divine bliss

In Summary

  • The work is Christocentric.
  • We work with the inner Objective Imagination - some have used the word ‘magic’ as a derivative of Imagination but we prefer to use the phrase ‘working with the Imaginal’ in order not to get englamoured with unfortunate, absurd contemporary associations.
  • No commitment is made to the author of this course.; Students are at liberty to leave the course whenever they choose.